What kind of fault is Philippine fault zone?

The Philippine Fault Zone which trends n40°w is widely accepted as a major strike-slip fault comparable to the San Andreas fault. An area in south-eastern Luzon, commonly regarded as part of the main fault zone, has been studied in an effort to date the faulting and to establish its nature and extent.

What type of fault is the Philippine Fault Zone?

The Philippine fault is a major left-lateral strike-slip fault that runs through the Philippine archipelago (Fig. 1).

What kind of faults are found in the fault zone?

Three types of faults

Strike-slip faults indicate rocks are sliding past each other horizontally, with little to no vertical movement. Both the San Andreas and Anatolian Faults are strike-slip. Normal faults create space. Two blocks of crust pull apart, stretching the crust into a valley.

What are the fault in the Philippines?

There are five active fault lines in the country namely the Western Philippine Fault, the Eastern Philippine Fault, the South of Mindanao Fault, Central Philippine Fault and the Marikina/Valley Fault System.

IMPORTANT:  Question: How can I start a company in Malaysia?

What type of fault is the western Philippine Fault?

The Marikina Valley Fault System, also known as the Valley Fault System (VFS), is a dominantly right-lateral strike-slip fault system in Luzon, Philippines.

How is the Philippine fault zone formed?

The Philippine Fault System is a major inter-related system of geological faults throughout the whole of the Philippine Archipelago, primarily caused by tectonic forces compressing the Philippines into what geophysicists call the Philippine Mobile Belt.

Is there a fault line in Mindoro?

The Aglubang River fault, which shows a right-lateral strike-slip sense of movement, extends from Malaylay Island in the north of Oriental Mindoro to Alcate, Victoria in the south. Measurements along the rupture reveal a maximum horizontal displacement of 4 meters and a maximum vertical displacement of 1.9 meters.

What are the types of faults explain each type?

There are three different types of faults: Normal, Reverse, and Transcurrent (Strike-Slip). Normal faults form when the hanging wall drops down. The forces that create normal faults are pulling the sides apart, or extensional. Reverse faults form when the hanging wall moves up.

What type of fault formed the Rocky Mountains?

What type of fault formed the Rocky Mountains? Recognition of a major Precambrian continental-scale, two-stage conjugate strike-slip fault system—here designated as the Trans–Rocky Mountain fault system—provides new insights into the architecture of the North American continent.

What is the three types of fault?

There are three main types of fault which can cause earthquakes: normal, reverse (thrust) and strike-slip. Figure 1 shows the types of faults that can cause earthquakes. Figures 2 and 3 show the location of large earthquakes over the past few decades.

IMPORTANT:  Who discovered the Angkor Wat?

What are 4 types of faults?

There are four types of faulting — normal, reverse, strike-slip, and oblique. A normal fault is one in which the rocks above the fault plane, or hanging wall, move down relative to the rocks below the fault plane, or footwall.

What is the Philippine Fault Zone PFZ and where is it located?

The 1,200-km-long Philippine fault zone (PFZ) is a major tectonic feature that transects the whole Philippine archipelago from northwestern Luzon to southeastern Mindanao.

What is the most active fault in the Philippines?

Marikina Valley Fault Line

according to PHIVOLCS, it is the most geologically active fault line the Philippines. it has not moved to produce high intensity earthquake for at last 500 years.

Is western Philippine Fault active?

There are five active fault lines in the country, these are the Western Philippine Fault, the Eastern Philippine Fault; the South of Mindanao Fault, the Central Philippine Fault, and the most famous one the Marikina Valley Fault or the West Valley Fault.

Where is western Philippine Fault?

The West Valley Fault is 100 kilometers in length and traverses the cities of Metro Manila namely Taguig, Muntinlupa, Paranaque, Quezon City, Pasig, Makati, and Marikina as well as nearby provinces of Rizal, Laguna, Cavite, and Bulacan. These places will suffer greatly when this fault move.

What type of fault is the East Zambales fault?

The Vigan-Aggao Fault is a 140-km-long complex active fault system consisting of multiple traces in the westernmost part of the Philippine Fault Zone (PFZ) in northern Luzon, the Philippines.

IMPORTANT:  Is ractopamine banned in Malaysia?